Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Looking for input on next bike

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2009, 07:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for input on next bike

I have been riding for about 4 months, putting on about 1800 miles. I currently have a 92 CBR F2. Is it worth itto step up to a 1000cc or go slower and do at least a fuel injected 600cc? I feel comfortable, but is it that much of a shock to go to a 1000 from a badly tuned carburetor 600?

Old 10-15-2009, 07:45 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hmm... Speaking for myself, I can't see a reason to go up to a 1k. Not unless it was irresistibly sexy and there wasn't anything equally so in the 600s. Like the 2010 BMW S1000RR. My badly tuned carb 600 is plenty powerful and fast.... But...

I'm 5' 10" 150lbs after a rainshower in full gear. From what I've seen, many go to a liter bike simply because it fits their body better. Others because they get more heavily into riding, not travelling or commuting. So the question is "What's the motive?"

Old 10-15-2009, 07:46 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by SeanPMN
I have been riding for about 4 months, putting on about 1800 miles. I currently have a 92 CBR F2. Is it worth itto step up to a 1000cc or go slower and do at least a fuel injected 600cc? I feel comfortable, but is it that much of a shock to go to a 1000 from a badly tuned carburetor 600?
like night a day. Hell its night n day between the F2 and a 600RR. You just started riding, 1800 miles aint shyt in the big scheme of things. At least rack up around 10k on your current bike and concentrate on mastering the basics and what to do in panic situations. Then move up to a newer 600 and repeat. I wouldnt think about getting a 1k until you at least have 50-100k under you belt.

Dont fall into the gambit of bigger is better because its bullshyt. A skilled rider on a small bike will out ride a shyty rider on a big bike anyday.