Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Disillusioned

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2008, 12:26 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disillusioned

A kid I graduated with in 2001 died this past weekend. I was at a packed funeral home Thursday night to pay my respects to Matt Stock. I wasn't particularly close to him outside of school, but I had a bunch of classes with him and sat at his lunch table in 11th and 12th grade. I can't think of a bad thing to say about this guy. He was near the top of our class and one of the most intelligent people I knew, and the kid never had a negative thing to say about anybody or anything. Totally straight laced witha great head on his shoulders. Matt had a lot to offer this world and had a very bright future ahead of him.

I don't know all the details, but I know that he was either out playing soccer or hockey with friends. He came home and complained about some chest pains, and then he just collapsed. Massive heart attack...at 25-years-old. It didn't really hit me until I saw him at the funeral home, the avid hockey fan layed out in his Sidney Crosby jersey. Why did this kid or his family deserve this?

Life's so disillusioning at times, and with shining stars like the Matt's of the world facing such a grim demise, it really makes me think about things. There's no reason for it...fate is bull****. There is no justification for such a great dude who was a credit to this world to be reduced to 2 lines in the obituary section of the newspaper atthe quarter century mark of his life.