Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Close call today...

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2009, 08:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Close call today...

So I am out riding today, just enjoying the great weather. I am still new to riding and today had my scariest experience. I was riding behind a mini van at about 40mph. Out of nowhere she slams on her brakes, coming to a complete stop in the middle of the lane in a one lane road. I had a good amount of distance between us, but by the time I could tell she had stopped completely, there was little distance so I slammed the brakes. I hit the rear brake hard enough to lock it up at about 35mph!!! Of course the rear end came loose and swerved to the right. Luckily the MSF safety info is still fresh in my mind and I kept the brake applied and skidded to a complete stop in time to not hit the van. Turns out the van came to a complete stop to honk at a dog that was in the middle of the road. Needless to say I was pretty shaken, but all is well. I think I will be taking the MSF courses every year to stay sharp. The info you learn there is truelly life saving.

Old 05-10-2009, 09:13 PM
Retired Moderator & The Big Deal

glad you are ok

Old 05-10-2009, 11:44 PM

i'm glad you're okay, im also glad the dogs okay cuz i love dogs! and im also glad the woman in the van cared to save the dog... i've seen some people that just didnt care that much...

Old 05-11-2009, 07:57 PM

wait your supposed to keep the brakes on? I thought you let go and pump em?

I had the rear lock on me but I could keep the bike in control.

what am i exactly supposed to do?

Old 05-11-2009, 08:29 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by jpanside@gmail.com
what am i exactly supposed to do?
Take the MSF course!

Okay, okay, I'll help you out.