New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Newbie in The U.K....

Old 10-30-2011, 05:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie in The U.K....

Hello....I've just registered....Looks like a handy place to be if you ride a CBR!

Quick introduction, as it's nearly bedtime....I live in Norfolk, United Kingdom, about halfway between Norwich and Gt.Yarmouth....I've been riding for 33 years in total: Off-road from the age of eight, and then on the road from sixteen (Ahhh....Fond memories of that little yellow TS50ER, and the freedom it gave me!)....Earlier this year, I decided to sell my 2007 BMW F800s and 2003 Kawasaki ZR7-S, as I didn't feel I was giving them the use they deserved since the sudden death, last year, of my father (Who also happened to be my best mate, and main riding companion)....The plan was to A)Pay off the credit card, and then B)Get a smallish trailbike to knock about on when the urge took me.

Part B didn't go quite to plan, when I ended up with a 300cc Taiwanese Quad instead....It was fantastic fun, but the build quality was atrocious, and riding it any distance on the road was somewhat of a chore: Particularly as something generally fell off it or failed!

The urge to get another "Proper" motorcycle quickly overtook me again, so I recently sold the quad with a view to using the proceeds to scratch a 20-year itch, and buying myself one of those red/white (With blue seat) CBR1000F-L hippos that I used to find so attractive back when I was younger....While searching, I fell in love with a slightly older girl: A CBR1000F-J, registered in November 1988, finished in a colour scheme that I don't recall seeing before (Basically white, but with a big swathe of red, with two shades of blue, not unlike the BMW "M" logo, running across the bike)....It looks well, has a new M.O.T, recent stainless exhaust system, and recent tyres.