New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New Rider, New (to me) CBR Owner

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2020, 10:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Rider, New (to me) CBR Owner

I am just beginning my journey of becoming a motorcycle rider. Learner's license tomorrow, rider training at the end of June and hopefully fully licensed by beginning of August. Something I've been drawn to all my life and I'm the perfect age for a perceived mid-life crisis.

I'm located in Victoria, BC on Vancouver Island in Canada.

I was lucky enough to buy an '04 CBR F4i from my brother in law who is an avid rider and was looking to downsize his bike inventory from 6 to 3 so this was one that he wasn't riding a ton and had to go. A super good deal on it and it has 18,000 km's. Well maintained and not ridden hard by him during his ownership. The bike will be transported from Alberta sometime this summer, so not sure exactly when I'll be swinging a leg over it. I've ridden it previously when out in Alberta visiting.

It's pretty much stock and I have small mod plans like flush mount signals, integrated taillight, smoked windscreen. Mostly esthetics to start. I'd love to get rid of the giant stock exhaust but I'm trying to keep my spending low for the first year.

I'm putting new tires on it so I'm starting on fresh rubber and would appreciate any feedback on Pirelli Angel GT's versus Michelin Pilot Road 4. I will be a fair weather rider sticking to road riding for the first few years. Not sure if I'll ever venture to a track day.

I've considered frame sliders being I'm a noob and will likely lay it down at some point. Any feedback on frame slider options is appreciated. Looks like 'no-cut' options aren't great for this particular fairing set up so I may have to modify to install.