New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

new to motorcycles- need some info

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 01:04 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to motorcycles- need some info

I am new to motorcycles and I am thinking about buying a CBR. They seem like great reliable bikes that can be a lot of fun. I am looking for some suggestions or info on what to look for in buying a bike for the first time. please let me know. im excited to get a hold of one

Old 03-10-2012, 09:43 AM

I'll tell you this Motorcycle are the most fun you will have or atleast it is for 90% of riders.

Safety is key don't be a fool a pop a wheelie looks cool! Very Cool but looking cool isn't worth all your flesh from your arm being ripped off. CBRs are great bikes because There light yet extremely fast I went 150 on my 95 CBR 600 so I can only imagine what a 999 can do.

I'm 6'2 - 6'3 and weigh about 180ish and I love the feel of a CBR only bike I would rather get is a ducati. but that's a whole other price range from where I am at.

I love them fun like no other only thing is if you get one without fuel injection prepare to clean that carb every summer (have to do this with all carb bikes)

I didn't know that my first time and Dealt with having to warm up my bike for 10-15 minutes every time before going out on a ride cause carbs were clogged. Sucks having a group of riders have to wait for you 2-3 times a day for being to cheap to get it cleaned cost: 300 dollars or so, or Just leave your bike with no gas in it over winter so the gas doesn't harden

Old 03-10-2012, 10:48 AM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome aboard Grant!

There are many used motorcycle buyers guides online. Just google that & you'll get a lot of helpful tips. We have many tips here on buying used bikes as well.