New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

LoL, First ride story

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2005, 10:33 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LoL, First ride story

Hey everyone, a couple of weeks ago i posted a forum about me getting a bike and I ended up getting an 01 cbr 929 rr for $5400. Despite it being very big and powerful, I tried to ride it for the FIRST time last night and holy-poopcakes did she take off! I've never ridden a motorcycle before nor even touched one, also i'm still new to manual transmission both on cars and bikes. It had the jardine exhaust on it, which makes it even more powerful and loud. I got the hang of the clutch and first gear only and was riding at 10 mph in a parking lot. Other than that, I still can't get the feeling of going down on the gears and going back to neutral, its really hard to learn if you can't see what gear you're on when it doesn't show on the gauges. I must say, I ALMOST dropped it, but that was because i didn't even know how the how gear system worked! I tried to brake and stop while still on 2nd gear! It just kept dying down on me and i was like S#!T! I pulled a muscle just trying to hold it back up! LOL, im pretty sure everyone could relate with me, I guess you got to start off as a pure newb somewhere. Today i'm going to try it out some more, i'll come back and read on this forum, any helpftul tips orinput would be greatly appreciated. thanks! (PS: I'll post pics soon)

Old 04-14-2005, 01:32 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: LoL, First ride story

The best tip i could give you is to check your life insurance payments are up to date....[X(]

No really its a great bike but if it is your first one take it very easy and get out of 1st,2nd gear quickly or you will be getting some great views of the sky and tarmac in that order.
Best of luck....

Old 04-14-2005, 03:16 PM