New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

just wanted to say hi

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 09:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just wanted to say hi

first off let me say hello and my name is rob. im brand new to the world of bikes ive been around them but never really ridden one. im goin to be getting a 1987 flat black cbr 600 from my uncle with about 10,000 miles on it and the motor has just been rebuilt by him. im looking forward to learning right now im just looking to see what aftermarket parts are out there for this bike and what i can do to make the rear end better looking or the front end without spending alot of moneyany help would be great.

Old 04-03-2008, 10:15 AM
Default RE: just wanted to say hi

Welcome...and take it steady. In England you would have to progress through 125cc compulsory training and tests (and if you were young) up to 2 years road experience before being allowed to ride anything like the CBR600. At over 90bhp and weighing twice as much as the rider there is more than enough to get into trouble and even get you dead in a hurry. Pull the throttle hard and you will pass 120 before you know it, do it on a wet road outside a gas station where the diesel trucks spill there newly filled tanks and you (no-one) can handle the speed/slide.

Maybe sitting here with my cast on I am a little jaded but with over 30 years of biking experience My new CBR1000 only took 30 miles to chuck me onto the tarmac. Take it from me (please) treat your bike with the same respect you would show a box of dynamite. Build your experience and confidence and don't get carried away with the undeniable thrill of pure G force. The 600 you ride on the road today is virtually identical to the factory race models that won everything back in the late 80s. It deserves respect and good maintainance.

I hope you have many years of safe exhilaration.

[align=left] [/align]

Old 04-03-2008, 11:54 AM