New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Hi. I'm Samantha.

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012, 09:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi. I'm Samantha.

So, hey... I'm Samantha. I'm in south Jersey, about to be 25 in a few days. I work in the human services field, have my Master's degree, and am hoping to be a certified behavior analyst by the end of the year.

I took the MSF course in the end of June, passed everything, got the endorsement added to my license, and am now in the market for a bike.

I'm looking for a 2001 or newer CBR 600. I'm 5'5", about 120 lbs., and imagine that I'll be quite content with doing about 30 mph around the neighborhood until I feel comfortable with the bike! Aside from completing the MSF course, I have no experience with riding, so I'm definitely on the cautious side.

I am not a stranger to the 'import scene', as I used to own a Lexus IS300 and had modified that quite a bit. I traded in the IS, bought a Toyota Highlander two years ago, and am finding myself wanting to balance my faux attempt at passing for a suburban Mom. Haha. Bikes are very new to me, though. I've been reading posts for a week or so and am looking forward to being a member on here now.

Old 07-14-2012, 10:46 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome aboard Samantha!

Excellent that you took the MSF Course! Most of us here recommend it. Kudos to you for deciding to take it & getting your license the right way. You sound very level-headed & realize that motorcycling - while exhilarating - takes some time to learn...& learn properly. Practice, practice, practice the skills & safety techniques you learned in your MSF course once you get your bike. You'll do fine.

Take your time finding a bike. Keep a level head & do your research on how to look at used bikes. We have many helpful tips here. Also, google "used motorcycle buyer's guide" or similar & you'll find many good checklists & tips in shopping for used bikes.