New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Hey, new looking for first bike

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2008, 03:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hey, new looking for first bike

Hey everyone I'm Greg. In the spring I will be taking the MSF course and begin to look for a bike to purchase. I keep hearing to start on a 250, but I've also been told to stay away. I love the look of the new ninja 250r, but I've heard that being 6'1 and 200lbs, the bike will be extremely uncomfortable and I will outgrow it way too fast. Also there is the sv650s, but in all honestly there is no appeal to me. So, I have heard that it may be reasonable for my to start out on an older f4i. I have several friends that all started off on 600cc bikes (r6, gsxr600) without a hitch. I have no experience except for a friends 75cc dirtbike a few years ago and putting a lot of miles on my buddies moped before I had a vehicle. Any advice to me would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg

Old 01-13-2008, 03:51 PM
Banned
Default RE: Hey, new looking for first bike

Start cheap and small. Upgrade when you feel ready. Onething you may notice is the type of riding you want to do isn't best for sportbikes, only a little time on the road will tell you that. It is also better to learn on a smaller bike because you will become a better rider starting off small. Some of the other member can explain why better than me.

Also I felt the same way about the SV at first, now I like them, so as you get some experience your tastes may change. Welcome to the site.

Old 01-13-2008, 07:00 PM

You'll be surprised at how much confidence you gain after the MSF course. That's easily the best tool for preparing to ride. Hell, take it twice.