New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Great White North

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2013, 03:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Great White North

Greetings,

As the title alludes, I'm a Canuck..location seems to be the theme with the intro threads so, why not.

First things first, I'm pretty new to the sport/supersport experience, but do know a few things about said bikes. However, I actually just transitioned from a cruiser to the CBR.

The old ride: '03 Honda Shadow Spirit, 10mm wider than stock rear Pirelli, Vance & Hines pipes with shortened and drilled baffles (packing removed), and blacked out..I was never much of one for chrome.

Back in '04 I had wanted to pick up a sports bike, and then switched my mind to a Shadow Aero but then life took a course of it's own. Fast forward to '11 and I picked up my previous bike, the '03 Spirit, after almost two years of ownership and riding with middle aged couples on Harleys I decided it was time to switch things up, and check out a faster pace of life.

Enter the '86 Kawasaki GPX750R (Euro spec, more HP, electronic suspension but, very similar to the North American GPz750 Ninja). I almost backed out of riding it because it felt so foreign and initially awkward but, I went for it. It was my younger brother's bike and he ended up letting me borrow it for a day; it was great and powerful, despite it's age and what I was accustomed to. Stock image below.

After all that being said and, a lot of misleads, false interests and other wastes of time, I ended up trading my Shadow for a '01 CBR 600 F4i late last week. Here's a few photos.

I don't think I could ask for much more in a sport bike at this time, I'm a sucker for a blacked out bike as well, haha. The spikes on the front may be cheesy to a lot of people but, I actually dig them.