New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

cbr for touring?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 06:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cbr for touring?

Hi all,

I'm new to the CBR forum and have a question. I feel out of place because I do not yet have my CBR but I'm looking at the CBR 600. I'm new to the motorcycle world (as in I have not yet received my permit) and I'm wondering if the 600 would be a good first bike for me. I'm 34 yrs. old and I feel that I would be able to handle a 600, but this is coming from someone who's only motorcycling experience was a 125 dirtbike about 10 yrs. ago in a school parking lot for about a minute. Does a lot of time on a bicycle count for anything? I can also drive a manual transmission car. Does that help with learning how to operate a motorcycle clutch? I would also like to take trips on my CBR and I'm wondering how CBR's would go? I'd love to know everyone's thoughts about this.

Thanks for the time,

jase

Old 08-22-2006, 06:35 PM
Default RE: cbr for touring?

Hi Jase,

I just started too, and had the same concerns. I did the Motorcycle Safety Foundation course and
felt much better about riding. I have 700 miles on my cbr600rr, and its my first bike, and I love it.
Its pretty scary fast the first few twists of the throttle, but you get used to that, and its totally up to
you how fast you chose to ride it. The saleman talked me out of starting on a 250 cc bike, and now
that I have a month on the 600, I am glad I listened as I think the 250 would have lacked power
for highway speeds - but I am 200+ lb.

I had ridden mountain bikes for years, and there is a trick to learning and forcing yourself
to counter-steer the motorcycle, but it comes with a few rides with some corners. As for touring,
I can't comment, I haven't ridden more than 100 miles in a day, but it is more comfortable than
a bicycle. Some people ( not on this forum-but elsewhere) that you have a lot of weight on