New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

CBR 929RR advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2018, 02:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CBR 929RR advice

Hello all, I'm new to 929's and forums, I've been riding motorcycles for 33 years and for the past 30 have ridden and worked on Harley's, I also used to have my own bike shop, I have been a professional mechanic on automobiles and trucks since 1981 and have a state inspection license from my home state.
I'm purchasing an '01 CBR929RR Erion Racing model that belonged to my best friend who was murdered 10 years ago by his girlfriend, she shot him in the back of his head, I just sold a Buell XB9R to make room in my shop for this one, his family has had the bike for the past 10 years and have kept it maintained in a heated basement and took it out a couple of times every summer just to keep it road worthy, I'm looking for any advice from knowledgeable owners about the finer points of owning and maintaining one, I'm not so interested in performance upgrades, it already has a K&N airfilter and a performance muffler, so much as I'm interested in advice for the longevity of the machine, such as, is a Power Commander or equivalent helpful for a richer air/fuel mix so the top-end lasts longer (the newer Harley's benefit from them a good deal, they've got them so lean I've had to hammer valve guides out of them that were baked in harder than any 50 to 60 year old original bike I've ever seen, I've had the heads so hot trying to get them out that the valve seats fall out sometimes), after 30 years of working on Harley's my advice on maintenance to someone who's just getting into them can save them a lot of headaches in the long run and what I would like is any similar advice for these machines.