New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Bought a problem bike AND NEED HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2017, 10:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bought a problem bike AND NEED HELP!!!

Hey guys, first post so I'm sorry if it's in the wrong spot.

I'm having an issue as well. I did the "poor man's" carb clean by spraying carb cleaner into it. On one of the carbs, the cleaner runs through it and leaks out of the gasket above the oil pan. This is my first bike so I'm still learning, but that just sounds bad! Any thoughts on what could be going on?

Thank you in advance!

1998 Honda CBR F3

Other issues:

1) When I pull the throttle all the way on the highway the bike bogs down and I lose RPM's
2) The radiator fan doesn't seem like it's kicking on when it should
3) Coolant boils over into the reservoir/doesn't seem like system is working properly - read somewhere that this could be cause by a few different things so a little lost.
4) Bike shoots between 12 - 13 volts from the rectifier to the battery. I found burnt out wires where the stator connects to the wiring harness, I think the stator needs to be replaced and I need to figure out the best way to splice out the burnt wires (a new harness is $350, this bike is worth less than $1k. Maybe just $500. Doesn't make sense to buy a whole new harness.)

Old 05-17-2017, 12:46 PM
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to CBRF! Sorry to hear you're having problems....

1) bogging down at WOT on the highway can be from so many things, that I would need some more info on the bike in question before I took a stab in the dark. Vac leaks, carb issues, fuel flow (to the carb) issues, etc.