New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

1st bike.....oh my

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2011, 10:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st bike.....oh my

i am now the excited and proud owner of a 1994 CBR1000. Purchased it damaged as it was laid down on the left side. Broken handlebar, headlight, missing and or damaged fairings, 26k on the speedometer. Totally repairable...for a price. Anyone want to take a guess how much i paid for it? So far i have bid and won a left handlebar for $25 (yay), still looking for a headlight assy, used and cheap, and having a heap of trouble finding a full set of fairings that wont break the bank.
This is my first bike ever and i love working on engines and such, so this will be quite memorable. I have been told over and over from other, more experienced riders, to ride first.....fix up later lol...geez...no faith!
I am a 39yr old journeyman plumber from NE, married, 3 kids ages 25, 12 and 6, have a cat i love and a beagle i call 'dumbdog'.
The bike will be in my garage this coming weekend, hopefully...weather pending, where the journey to rebuild will begin. Im excited. I cant wait to ride. I will be taking a course, and obviously getting a cycle license. Butterflies thinking about my first ride......so.....anyone know of any salvage yards waiting for a sucker like me to invest in used parts?
Here starts my journey. I thank you in advance for any and all input.
ryan

Old 06-21-2011, 11:01 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome to the CBRForum Ryan!

I like your enthusiasm! Congrats on getting your bike.

Looking forward to hearing your progress & seeing your bike.

Old 06-21-2011, 11:47 PM
2011 Ride of the Year

welcome to CBRF

Old 06-22-2011, 08:17 AM

Sounds like a great project. Lets see some pics as you go

Old 06-22-2011, 07:53 PM

uh....correction..i just got the title today. it says 93. oh well....its still mine!

Old 06-23-2011, 12:20 PM

Welcome to the forum! would love to see some pics!