CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   How To: Paint and Body (https://cbrforum.com/forum/how-paint-body-109/)
-   -   Vinyl - how to & how not to! (https://cbrforum.com/forum/how-paint-body-109/vinyl-how-how-not-141578/)

kieran 08-31-2012 12:07 PM

Vinyl - how to & how not to!

5 Attachment(s)
ok this is my first attempt at vinyl and at a build thread so well ... it is what it is.
This for me was a fail with the vinyl although the process was fine!

I wanted to vinyl the whole bike in white and add custom black decals (can't afford a respray, vinyl is cheap) for me this didn't work because the repsol paint job is 3 different colours going over it in white shows three different shades through the finished product.

however this is my first attempt at vinyl and I've painted a lot before so i can tell you, if you have the patience then its a cheap alternative to painting! looks good when done well!

This pics will show you part the i did for the try out too see how hard it was.

The standard fairing piece orange and white with scratches.

If this was going to be a final vinyl this surface would have been prepared and filled so there was no lumps or anything so it would be a perfectly flat smooth surface. for this (being a trial run) there was no point.

so i cut out a bit of vinyl over sized for the fairing piece so it can wrap round the edges.

Then simple lay on panel (after cleaning/degreasing/panel prepping).

I've shown wrong bits i.e bubbles etc and I've shown good bits that i had figured out how to do it properly on.

I watched a fair few how to's on vinyl but some have it wrong!

Heating and stretching (gently) is defiantly the right way!!!
If you use a tool to push out the bubbles it does rip!

for me a finger or thumb to push down the vinyl once heated was fine, if u find a bubble lift off again and stretch in the right direction to get rid of it.