How-To: Mechanical This section is ONLY for sharing step-by-step instructions on how you did a project. Please post tech related questions in "General Tech". Adherence to this policy will be strictly enforced by the staff ...

How To: F4i Gauge in F3 Mount

  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 05:33 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default How To: F4i Gauge in F3 Mount

I have been looking for a guide on how some people mounted their F4i Gauge in the F3. Here is what I did using the stock F3 Gauge cluster.

Remove the Gauge (7 Screws)


Using a Dremel tool, cut off the portion of the gauge that is raised so you have a nice level surface






Find out where you want to mount the gauge and trace the lines out on where the extra cuts need to be made to make it fit



Cut some cardboard to fill in the gaps. I just cut them tight enough to where I didnt have to use tape to hold them in, but Im sure that would work too. I also put a piece of plastic over the gauges just in case I dripped jelly on it




Cut fiberglass strips that are made to fit the areas where there is cardboard

I used Fiberglass Jelly. Im sure resin would work too, but this is a cleaner approach in my opinion
Apply Jelly-Fiberglass-Jelly In that order to the areas where you have the cardboard

I only used one strip to each section, you could use more if you like.

After it hardens, Sand down the rough spots of extra Jelly and then apply your Bondo. This takes a few coats as you can see here. After each coat. Allow to dry and then sand. I used 80-120-150-400-600. I also used 3 coats of bondo to get it where I was happy














Let this dry overnight, Then tape off your gauge and cut around the gauge to make a clean and even paint area





Primer 3 coats. i used Duplicolor Primer



Trim paint 3 coats. I used Duplicolor Automotive Trim paint




Clear 2 coats. I used Rustoleum for Plastic and Wheel clear





After you are finished allow to cure for 24 hours. Take the tape off and Enjoy.

Mine has minor imperfections and I still have to clean off around the gauge itself. You get the picture though.

Making the bracket will come next. I have not done that yet, but will very soon. Keep checking back for Updates.
 

Last edited by lky_3; 05-20-2010 at 06:51 PM.
  #2  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:48 PM
knifemaker87's Avatar
July 2011 ROTM
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 223
Default

sweet! pretty spiffy stuff. I have an F4i gauge in mint condition, but dont need it, so if anybody else wants to do this conversion.. i have one of the digital gauges. let me know
~Chris
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:07 PM
bammerman's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 503
Default

There are tons of people in the F3 forums that would want that.
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-2010, 05:44 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Feel free to tell your friends and post the link. Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 06-26-2011, 06:14 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

is there a write up that says how to actually install it?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
townsend3111
General Tech
0
04-11-2014 06:53 AM
schnid21
F4i - Wanted
1
02-18-2013 07:57 PM
solidsnake1761
CBR 600F3
9
05-08-2012 05:39 PM
Armstrong
CBR 600F3
0
06-08-2006 08:31 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How To: F4i Gauge in F3 Mount


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.