How To ... This section is to tell 954 owner's How To do something ... not for asking questions ...

Improving idle run and decrease alternator load at idle

Old 01-01-2022, 10:13 AM
Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Improving idle run and decrease alternator load at idle

I start this post because I haven been busy to improve the idle running of the bike.
Now I am quite new to the bike world but not to combustion engines. The first thing I noticed when I heard my bike running was the crappy idle of the engine.
An improvement was to clean the throttle bodies however this was not all.
Also I discovered the alternator paritially burned, which caused that the alternator only had two phases working, while the third was shorted to mass.
After fixing this the bike ran better but still crappy.
A big improvement to the idle run was exchanging the normal halogen bulbs (the 55W and the three 5W) for LED's. This reduced the power drawn at idle from a total of 70W to 28W.
Since this was a big improvement I started measuring noise at the battery with an oscilloscope.
At idle the noise was about 0,5V and when revving higher the noise got worse to about 3V.

In the bike there is a very important powerline (black white, with green dots) On this powerline are connected: the ignition, the injectors, the pair valves, the regulator/ rectifier reference line, fuel cut off relay, and fan control relay.
This line is fused with a 20A fuse. However the resistance of this fuse was quite high and putting a capacitor over the battery is useless because of this.

Therefore I connect the capacitor to the single polarity connector and a decent ground. However this will be done in a couple of days. When I have time.
The first picture shows the connector in the wiring diagram, the second picture the connector IRL.