General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What's all this about dropping teeth?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 06:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's all this about dropping teeth?

I'm new to bikes in general and I keep seeing posts with mention of dropping teeth at the front etc...

My question(s) would be:
* Why would someone do this?
* How would someone do this?
* Advantages & Disadvantages?

Thanks guys,

TooL

Old 06-15-2005, 09:38 AM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: What's all this about dropping teeth?

They're referring to the front and rear sprockets. Here's how it works:

Adding teeth to the front or taking teeth away from the rear increase top speed but decreases acceleration. You will run lower RPMs to go the same speed as before.

Losing teeth in the front or adding teeth to the rear increases acceleration but decreases top speed. You will run higher RPMs to go the same speed as before.

All this is accomplished by changing the OEM sprocket with one that has a different # of teeth. Most people do this to increase acceleration. The general thought process is "I don't really need to go 186mph so a couple teeth won't really matter -- and then I'll be able to smoke that Busa".

Advantages/disadvantages depend on what you're trying to achieve. To gain in one place you're gonna have to give up something somewhere else. By increasing acceleration you'll lose gas mileage, top end speed and you'll generally feel buzzier. By increasing top end potential you'll get better mileage but power wheelies will be harder to achieve and other bikes will destroy you off the line.

Old 06-15-2005, 10:31 AM

Aha!!! It's almost clear now. Thanks for the reply.