General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Running Rough

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 11:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running Rough

Hey,

I am new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

so here is the problem: 02 F4i is running rough. I changed oil and spark plugs but it was still running rough..(by running rough I mean.. it was dying when cold unless I gave it throttle.) Now I took it to the dealership and they fixed the idle problem. They changed the plugs i just put in and charged me for that.(Pissed me off). Now they still say it is running rough and they think it is a clogged or faulty fuel injector. They told me to run seafoam and see if that fixes it. Cause they wanna charge 100$ an injector and 176$ each to replace it. Any ideas?

Mark

Old 02-10-2010, 11:36 AM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Find a new shop.

Hope you find the cause.

Welcome to the board. I'm sure you'll get some suggestions here shortly.

Old 02-10-2010, 12:18 PM

+1 for sea foam, that was good advise. run a concentrated mix for awile then let bike sit for a day or two , and that stuff will work quite well. its worth a try before gettin raped at the stealership...

Old 02-10-2010, 03:05 PM
No Selling Until 100 Posts

Do a search on the FPR (fuel pressure regulator). This and the CCT (cam chain tensioner) are two of the most common flaws on the F4i. The FPR will make your bike RUN rough, while the CCT will make it SOUND rough.

You can visually check the FPR by disconnecting the vaccum line that feeds it. If you see even the smallest amount of gas come out, the internal seal is bad and most likely your culprit.

I've had this happened to both of my F4is. Some of the symptoms I was experiencing was smoking, bogging, hesistating or down on power in the low rpms, and stalling when letting it idle. One bike had all the symptoms while the other had half.