General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replaced Throttle Pipe Incidentally Installed Cruise Control

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2009, 01:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Replaced Throttle Pipe Incidentally Installed Cruise Control

I just replaced my throttle pipe because my new used 92 CBR had a cracked one due to some unfortunate use from the prior owner. So it's on there, which was fun, but now it doesn't roll off on it's own and pretty much works like cruise control. This is really neat however it has it's flaws which should be obvious... I'm guessing this is because it's brand new and has about 30 minutes of ride time on it, but I don't know since I'm new to the scene. When I first noticed it, for the hell of it I greased the bar and inside of the pipe a bit since I greased the throttle cables where the connect to the pipe, but really this made no differerence. After installation, I checked and I have about 3 mm of play before the throttle would engage, and from what I'm reading this is good. Hope that helps to get an explanation of my new sorta really cool feature.

Old 03-24-2009, 01:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You return spring may be missing.

Old 03-24-2009, 04:06 PM

Being new should have nothing to do with it. Either your spring is missing or unhooked like already said, or you have a kink somewhere. If you didnt route the cables the same way, it may be possible that the cables are kinked. It really wont take much to kink them. Something as simple as bending the cables too much or have them twisted will cause this.

as you said, its not a good thing.

The other thing to consider. If you only replaced the tube and not the entire cable, you could easily have a frayed cable. I would suggest replacing the entire cable system, not just the tube if thats what was done.