General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions about motorcycle milage..

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2006, 10:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about motorcycle milage..

Hey everybody,

I'm new to riding, and am looking to buy my first bike. I found a really nice CBR600f4i for sale this weekend, and it's in great condition, clean as a whistle, and very well maintained. It's a 2003, but the only thing is the bike has 17k miles on it. He's selling it for $5000.

Since this is my first bike, i'm not sure if 17k miles is a lot or not. How many miles do you usually get out of a motorcycle before it's time is up? Does 17k miles mean that this bike is on the 2nd half of it's lifetime, or that it's just beginning still? Please help as i'm looking for a loan right now for the bike cause it seems great but I don't want to get screwed over if 17k miles is a lot.

Thanks!
Derek

Old 10-22-2006, 10:53 PM
Ironmang
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Questions about motorcycle milage..

Well for what it's worth, my '04 F4i (which just turned 2 years old last tues 17th), just turned 69,000 miles today on my way back from Biketoberfest up in Daytona (4 hr ride). Never any problems with it and she's still running as good and strong as the day I bought her new. It's a Honda, they're bulletproof...no worries!! Seriously though if it's been taken care of, you got nothing at all to worry about with 17k. With F4i's usually the only problem spots are the CCTL which will just make noise. As for overall reliability though, top notch!! Mine has taken me through 11 states so far without so much as the smallest hiccup....ever!

Bike sounds like a good deal if it's in real good shape... I'd jump on it

Old 10-22-2006, 11:03 PM