General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pro-Moly Leak Proof Fork Seals

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2006, 12:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pro-Moly Leak Proof Fork Seals

If you are in the market for some fork seals do NOT... I MEAN DO NOT buy the pro-moly leak proof seals (which have a lifetime warrenty) [sm=smiley21.gif]. Now where do I start on how much I hate these cheap pieces of crap. I am a certified mechanic and have installed dozens of fork seals on dirt bikes and streetbikes. The last 3 bikes I did I used these amazing leak proof seals. The cr 125 and crf 450 leaked within 3 weeks (I can do about 1 year on stock seals). Then I put some on my cbr600 and they have seeped oil since they have been installed. Only 1 seal was leaking before I changed them, now both leak... not blown out but seep oil to much. And yes bushings and everything was in great shape and I taped the ridge so it didn't damage the seals installing them. These crappy seals have no spring on the inside like the stock ons do.... which is a horrible design for a seal. Anyone else try these pieces? and if you havn't don't even think about it.

Old 02-04-2006, 05:57 AM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Pro-Moly Leak Proof Fork Seals

I rebuilt my 1kRR forks using stock stuff and have had no trouble from the seals. My only complaint was that the suspension oil is $30 a quart.

Old 02-04-2006, 10:33 AM

I`ve only ever used stock before but how could they have a lifetime guarantee? you re-use em when you change the oil?

Hey Chain At what type of mileage do you recomend changin the oil on the 1KRR? (Fork Oil)

Old 02-04-2006, 12:22 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN

I did mine at about 7K miles but that was because I ripped pieces off of the lower legs[:@] But you wouldn't believe how much smoother the front end is since the new fluid and seals so definitely worth the effort.