General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help With HID Install

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 12:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help With HID Install

I just bought a HID kit off ebay and I can't figure out how to run the postive and negative wires off the HID bulb into the factory wire harness. The problem is that there is a rubber like washer around these wires on the HID bulb. Soyou would have to bend them back around and over the rubber washerto plug into the bike wire harness. If you do that then I would lose my seal around all the wires then take a chance of leaking water one day into the bulb. Would it be ok if I cut a small hole to pull the wires back out of the rubber washer and use a little silcone on it to seal the holes water tight. I have some thats clear. This is my first time doing anything like this so just looking for some help. Thanks.

[IMG]local://upfiles/13191/499BB953FB4042A3A111576357A1C0FE.jpg[/IMG]

Old 10-07-2008, 12:47 AM
Default RE: Need Help With HID Install

Sorry I don't know why the picture did not show up on the page.

Old 10-07-2008, 02:23 AM

Ive never done an HID install but soon will be doing so. I am curious about your qestion though. Are you trying to hook up the hid bulb to the stock wiring harness? or are you trying to hook up the ballist and or igniter up to your stock wiring harness?

Im assuming your kit has the ballist and the igniter correct? I thought the bulb plugged into the igniter.?

I know, my spelling is off.

Old 10-07-2008, 10:16 AM

You have to hook up theHID postive and negative wires into the factory bike wire harness. My problem is just getting them to hook in while still having a water tight seal. I just dont understand why they did the wires like that knowing you have to bend them back around to plug into the wire harness.

Old 10-07-2008, 10:21 AM