General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A good all around tire?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2006, 10:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A good all around tire?

I'm a noob to the motorcycle world and I just got me a 1999 CBR 600 F4 that is in desparate need for some maintenance, especially a new rear tire! It currently has a pretty good Dunlop Sportmax D208F tire up front, and not that I have to match the rear tire to it but I thought I'd throw that in there. I was looking through some forums and a lot of guys give praise to the Michelin Pilot Power tires and the Metzeler M3 tires. I am a noobie rider and I don't plan on racing or running it too hard around corners anytime soon, so what I am looking for is a tire that will last a while, have decent performance, and also will handle decent in wet weather, since I will be riding this bike to and from work/school a lot and may get caught in some rain now and then. I was looking at this web site that has good prices on tires, and I found a nice Bridgestone BT-014 tire for a good price, but also the Michelin PPs don't cost too much more either. I just wondering if the PPs might be too much for me and not good enough in the wet since they seem like more of a race tire. I guess the Dunlop Qualifiers are the match to my front tire, but I may just buy the pair of tires while I'm at it anyway. Give me your opinions on my situation please! Thanks!

Here are links to what I was looking at:

Bridgestone BT-014

Michelin PPs

Dunlop Qualifiers

Old 08-03-2006, 10:49 PM
Default RE: A good all around tire?

I just replaced the front on my 93 f2 with a pilot power, no complaints at all, as soon as I need a rear i'll be putting the same pilot power on it also

Old 08-04-2006, 01:30 AM

i just put a Quailfier on the rear of my bike. i love the tire and it performs awsome