General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

F2, cleaned carbs now runs worse

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 04:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F2, cleaned carbs now runs worse

Hi all, I have a 93 F2 with about 40k miles. Bikes been running okay for the last 3 years that I've owned it, but recently I've been having some problems I thought were carb related.

When I get up to high rpm (7-8k) in 6th gear, I can twist the throttle all day, but the bike won't pick up. Seems to me like its not getting enough fuel. Also when cruising at high speed/rpm (highway driving) if I pull the clutch in sometimes the bike goes flat and stalls (instead of dropping to proper idle, it just dies). POp start it and it always starts right back up.

Anyway, Got the carbs out, and followed the great write up on this forum to try to clean it. Keep in mind this is my first time ever messing with any carb. I have aftermarket exhuast and air filter that was on the bike when I got it, so I imagine its jetted.

I cleaned the floats, float pins and needles. I didn't touch the pilot screws because I wasn't sure what exactly to do with them lol. I removed the main jet and pilot jet, sprayed them out real good with carb cleaner. I didn't mess with the jet needles or sliders.

Anyway now that its back together its a pain to get the bike to run. Need to hold the throttle open to get it to start, and even that is unreliable. The only thing I can think I may have goofed on is reinstaling the throttle cables. I'm not 100% sure they were adjusted right, however when I twisted the throttle I could see the butterflies move, so I assume thats alright?