General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bondo dent puller?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2012, 09:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bondo dent puller?

Hey guys. Newbie here. I need some help. I bought my F4i in Dec and I love it. But there's this tennis ball size dent right around the top right hand corner of my tank pad. I just bought a ProGrip tank pad so I wanna see if I can pull this dent out before I put the new pad on. Would a Bondo dent puller be good for this? I'm afraid that 1) it won't work...or worse 2) it pulls the dent, but messes up my paint. Any suggestions? (PS - the previous owner said he got a quote from a mechanic to hammer the dent out for $100).

Thanks,

Ron

Old 04-12-2012, 11:25 AM

Ohh, one more thing, there are no creases or visible damage in and around the dent area. Any help would be welcome.

Old 04-12-2012, 12:28 PM

Just go to a local body shop and let them look at it. They don't just "hammer" The dent out, it's a whole process. Find one that does "painless dent repair."

Old 04-12-2012, 01:48 PM

Thanks NTX. LOL. No, I didn't think they would just hammer the dent our (bad choice of words on my part). I've researched a few DIY methods online (glue & stick, compressed air, "hammering", even dry ice). I'm gonna try to find a guy who does paintless dent repairs here in Toronto area. Thanks.

Old 04-12-2012, 07:04 PM

Be careful with what you find on the internet for dent removal. Your dealing with gas, not just normal dents like you would find on a fender or door of a car. Even with the gas tank emptied, there are still fumes present that will ignite easily. Compressed air can cause static electricity in the right conditions, and can cause a spark. Not to mention compressing gas is never a good thing. I would keep anything hot away from the tank.