General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 F4i will not start (video & details inside).

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012, 12:36 PM
Registered Users
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 F4i will not start (video & details inside).

Hi folks, on the suggestion of another member, I've reposted my issue in this section in hopes I can get some better ideas to my problem.

Because of the mild winter last year up where I live, I tried to stretch the riding season as far as I could and lo and behold my cbr got caught in frozen rain with the cover on it (didn't have a garage at the time). It wouldn't start the next day and hasn't since.

You might ask why it took almost 8 months to address the problem? I've tried to diagnose the problem while in school but didn't have real time until I graduated this past Spring to really start wrenching.

Here's the video:

[youtube]SqdVaV-gdIk[/youtube]

I've so far checked and done the following:

Gas in tank
Fuel pump primes
Replaced the spark plugs to laser iridiums.
Checked for codes and got nothing back.
Air filter seems fine
Bank angle sensor seems fine (not sure how it would suddenly affect the bike if it was never tipped over)

It did smell like gas after trying to so many times before replacing the spark plugs (the old ones were pretty used up by then).
My next guess is the fuel pressure regulator, but I'm not sure how to see if it's gone faulty.

I hope this information helps!

Old 07-14-2012, 02:57 PM
Track junkie & modaholic

Did you charge the battery?

Old 07-14-2012, 04:08 PM
Registered Users

Originally Posted by CJardine
Did you charge the battery?
Absolutely. I keep the battery on trickle charge when not in use.

Old 07-14-2012, 09:15 PM
Official Welcome Crew
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Thats not battery.. It's cranking but it sounds weird to me.. Did you do a compression test?