F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

which wire harness do i need?

  #1  
Old 05-28-2010, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Default which wire harness do i need?

theives tried to steal my bike last week, and in doing so they cut the 4 wires (ignition wires im guessing) that lead up to the key and bridge. I spliced them back to gether ghetto style just to be able to ride the bike, but they should really be replaced.
Here is a diagram of all the wires on the bike:
http://fiche.ronayers.com/Index.cfm/..._HARNESS_01-03
i cannot figure out which wire harness i need that will replace these 4 cut wires.
if you guys can help me out that be great, thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-2010, 09:15 AM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

Just Solder and shrink wrap the wires back together, it will be better than new! If you need to add additional lengths of wire in, make sure its the same gauge wire as the existing wire. If you need help how to do this, i can write up a tutorial :-D
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-2010, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Default

bump...for more useful information and for someone that can answer my question
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-2010, 05:01 PM
letsride's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ca.
Posts: 1,407
Default

I can check when I get home if I still have mine,maybe I can be of more help that way.
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-2010, 05:38 PM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Where exactly did they cut in? Did they cut the bike's actual harness?

The ignition has its own wires and connector. If they cut at that point, you can only buy a new switch assembly: 35100-MBW-673 SWITCH ASSY. Item #3.

If they cut the harness, I think what you're looking for is item 7 on the link you supplied. The front sub-harness
 
  #6  
Old 05-29-2010, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Originally Posted by letsride View Post
I can check when I get home if I still have mine,maybe I can be of more help that way.
great! thanks i will most def buy it off ya
 
  #7  
Old 05-29-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Originally Posted by Kuroshio View Post
Where exactly did they cut in? Did they cut the bike's actual harness?

The ignition has its own wires and connector. If they cut at that point, you can only buy a new switch assembly: 35100-MBW-673 SWITCH ASSY. Item #3.

If they cut the harness, I think what you're looking for is item 7 on the link you supplied. The front sub-harness
i wish i could take a pic for ya but the bike is up at a friends house because i dont have a garage. i wont be able to see the bike until next thursday...but i will try and explain what wires:

the theives cut the 4 wires that come directly out of the 'key box unit' ( i dont know what the technicall term is). Where you place your key and 'turn' if you follow down about 3 inches past the bridge you will see a set of wires, THOSE are what got cut. i believe on the wires its written "ground" "power" "ignition" and i cant remeber what the forth is. but you get the idea

thanks for your help
 
  #8  
Old 05-29-2010, 09:34 AM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Originally Posted by itsgroll View Post
i wish i could take a pic for ya but the bike is up at a friends house because i dont have a garage. i wont be able to see the bike until next thursday...but i will try and explain what wires:

the theives cut the 4 wires that come directly out of the 'key box unit' ( i dont know what the technicall term is). Where you place your key and 'turn' if you follow down about 3 inches past the bridge you will see a set of wires, THOSE are what got cut. i believe on the wires its written "ground" "power" "ignition" and i cant remeber what the forth is. but you get the idea

thanks for your help
If they cut it before the connector, side closest to the key, it's not part of the bike's wire harness. That's part of the ignition assembly. Learned that the hard way wiring up my first alarm
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:09 PM
letsride's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ca.
Posts: 1,407
Default

Sounds like you need either a new ignition or splice the wires back together as previously explained.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Yin-Yang
F4i - For-Sale / Trade
0
05-18-2014 12:42 AM
Boyo
CBR 600F4
14
03-02-2012 11:45 PM
coldflood
CBR 600F2
1
10-16-2011 10:31 PM
dunnanunnanunnamattman
CBR 600F
0
04-05-2011 06:00 PM
ldgriffin
General Tech
4
09-18-2010 05:29 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: which wire harness do i need?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.