CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   Winterizing the F4i (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/winterizing-f4i-100969/)

IIRyan 09-16-2009 07:16 PM

Winterizing the F4i

Hey everyone,
Unfortunately that time of year is creeping up on us, and this being my first year with a bike, I have no experience winterizing it. I know that I should buy some fuel stabilizer but that's about it. I was wondering if anyone could throw out some suggestions or tips. Any help would be appreciated!

PS: Is it better to have the gas tank full or empty?

Thanks.

R Dub 09-16-2009 08:01 PM

Fill the tank up and put stable in it. depending on where it is parked (heated garage or not) I would pull that battery out of it as well. Also make sure you have the proper mix of coolant so the water in your radiator doesn't freeze. Then you should be good I would think.

chetman7 09-16-2009 08:02 PM

Im' pretty much on the same boat as u

wat i've heard around is conflicting
I had one person tell me to add a fuel stabilizer, fill the tank, oil change, and tend the battery.

but i've heard of ppl doing nothing but charging the battery and they were fine.
I also have heard that fuel stabilizer is not good and gums up some things.

I personally will be charging the battery, topping off the tank, and putting it on stands.

R Dub 09-16-2009 08:19 PM

Hmm I have never heard of stabilizer gumming anything up. I use it in my bike, my Dad uses it in the Corvette and boat and my brother uses it in his Camaro and neither of us has had any issues. We use the brand STA-BIL. http://www.goldeagle.com/brands/stabil/default.aspx

IIRyan 09-16-2009 08:36 PM