F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Torque to yield bolts? Replacing Transmission Question

  #1  
Old 08-10-2011, 09:16 AM
cpark_12's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairo, GA
Posts: 36
Default Torque to yield bolts? Replacing Transmission Question

Okay, my 2nd gear (i thought) went out on my 02 f4i. I got everything out and apart and it turns out one of my shift forks was grinding on the gear itself. Anyways, i replaced the whole transmission, gears, forks, and shift drum. So, I go to putting everything back together and I broke a bolt off in the case. Luckily I got it out with no problem, but my question is: Are the bolts that go around the crank torque to yield bolts? Are they only supposed to be used once? The reason I ask is I had my torque wrench set to 19ft.lb. just like the manual said, but it never clicked. My brother, a mechanic, said it sounds like torque to yield to him, but i figured the manual would have said so if that was the case.

I just thought I'd ask here to see if anyone else has done this. Thanks for any answers.
 
  #2  
Old 08-11-2011, 01:05 PM
cpark_12's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairo, GA
Posts: 36
Default

anyone know the answer to this question?
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-2011, 08:51 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Sorry, don't know the answer but tomorrow I am doing exactly what you are doing and I hope I don't have to replace the forks too

Good luck
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-2011, 09:29 PM
itlnF4I's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: winterhaven, fl
Posts: 341
Default

i did the same thing and broke one of my bolts too. i just ordered new bolts from bike bandit and called it a day. and fyi, my forks looked the same but thats not what the problem was that grinding and blueing on the fork was from all the force while spining when the gear was being pushed out because the dogs were rounded. @lambo, i have a couple extra good forks, id be glad to help out if you just pay shipping cost.
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:35 AM
cpark_12's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairo, GA
Posts: 36
Default

Yea, i don't know exactly what the deal was with mine. All i know is the upper part of 2nd gear would slip, then all of the sudden when i shifted into 2nd and let off the clutch, the bike would just bog down. I'd have to stop and play with the shifter a while to get it back into 1st. I just went ahead and replaced everything just to be sure! I ordered new bolts too, so hopefully it'll be back on the road by next weekend at the latest
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
underground-mpyre
CBR 600F2
21
09-11-2014 02:58 PM
Bizzyb
CBR 600F
8
05-11-2011 06:01 PM
millig67
1000 Modifications
3
10-23-2009 04:45 PM
raving
CBR 600F3
0
03-28-2007 11:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Torque to yield bolts? Replacing Transmission Question


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.