F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Tiny Mod: Rear Sprocket +1

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2013, 12:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiny Mod: Rear Sprocket +1

Hey guys,

I commute highway miles mostly. I need max MPG's, not into racing or track (for now). But I was hoping to go +1 in the rear sprocket / stock front size. Will that give me a "tiny" bump in acceleration, without sacrificing MPG's? If I lose MPG's, by how much ??

I am not expecting big gains (acceleration) or much loss in gas MPG...

Your expert opinions are very much appreciated. I am new to this...

Thanks,
05 F4i.

Old 09-29-2013, 03:15 PM

i get around 38 mpg with a -1 front sprocket and stock rear.
i hear a +2 in rear is close to equal to that of -1 front.
so depending how many MPG you are already getting you can try to figure it out.
also i use it to commute through city and rural areas.

Old 09-29-2013, 05:06 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

3 in the rear is about equal to 1 front.
You probably won't notice only +1 in the rear.

Old 09-29-2013, 07:03 PM
Received 34 Likes on 32 Posts

You won't notice the loss in mpg or the gain in acceleration. You really feel the bike is that slow stock?

Old 09-29-2013, 10:21 PM

If you're big on highway.. why would you ever go up in the rear? You'd actually probably be better going down. Besides the factory that motorcycle just aren't aerodynamic (actually it's the rider throwing it off).. they're not tuned for highway.. they're tuned for performance. But if you wanted good gas mileage you'd want to keep the rpm's low.. the tire pressure up, the AFR ratio lean etc.. etc..

Old 09-30-2013, 02:09 AM

Originally Posted by 74demon
3 in the rear is about equal to 1 front.
You probably won't notice only +1 in the rear.