F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

So many tire choices! Which one?

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2013, 06:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question So many tire choices! Which one?

Hey guys, before you ask if I have searched. I have but it still seems like there's a thousand choices for tires and im super confused as which to buy, they all seem to perform well but there is no clear winner. Plus all the threads are like two plus years old. Im looking for something thats going to wear well but will also give confidence in corners. Im new to the supersport world and Im still working on my cornering technique so I dont need anything thats going to be a trackstar. So lets hear what you guys recommend? Cycle gear has a special on Perrelis for 210+ mount balance. Where else can I buy tires for cheap?

Old 05-30-2013, 07:32 PM
Track junkie & modaholic

2012 Street Tire Test - Sport Rider Magazine

I like Dunlop Q2s.

Last edited by CJardine; 05-30-2013 at 07:34 PM.
Old 05-30-2013, 08:27 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm running shinko stealth 002 front and rear and I'm enjoying them. 500 miles so far so they are just now getting scruffed in. They have dang good grip but only other tire I can compare to is Michelin tires. What I've read up they are good street tires with good grip. Front and rear plus mount and balance was 250$.

Old 05-30-2013, 09:10 PM

My last tires were Dunlop Roadsmart...got 10,000 miles from them.

I have Pirelli Angel ST tires on now, 6,500 miles so far. I prefer these to the Dunlops...the tread is wearing more even, particularly on the front.

Old 05-30-2013, 09:58 PM

Michelin pilot road 3's 2ct. I got 16,000 miles out of the rear tire and 20,000 miles out of the front. I get em off ebay and mount and balance them myself. They are best for my style riding which is commute and touring.

Old 05-31-2013, 09:52 AM