F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

So I'm new to riding...

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2007, 05:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So I'm new to riding...

So I was riding home tonight andIaccelerated reallyfast up to 80 mphand my turn came up quick so I started to apply both breaks, (I was somewhere between 3rd& 5th gear)then I pulled the clutch all the way in andpushed down on theshifter andit began to do what seemed like a bit ofslightly violentrattling around andmaking a lot of rattling noise,then after I slowed down more I down shifted again and itfelt like it dropped into gear andit stopped. My questions are these 1. What the hell was that? 2. Should I be concerned?

Old 02-05-2007, 10:53 AM
Default RE: So I'm new to riding...

Sounds like you may of not been in gear when shifting down. Like it didnt catch i have a had a rattling noise on mine like the gear didnt catch. just tried again and everything worked find. Thats all i can guess off of ur details.

Old 02-05-2007, 11:45 AM

ORIGINAL: PRAXIS

1. What the hell was that? 2. Should I be concerned?
This issue is you, not the bike. Learn to brake from high speed properly. You don't want to be using the rear brake in a panic stop and you need to learn to downshift properly.

Old 02-05-2007, 12:00 PM

Sounds like rear wheel hop to me. Downshifting while at a high RPM and not matching RPMs and or braking hard enough on the front to unload the rear tire so that any little rear brake will lock the rear tire. Sounds like you need to work on "riding" before dicking around. If you cant properly handle the bike from that speed, simply dont do it. Learn how to handle that thing first. And yes, if you continue to do it with out knowing what you are doing, you will crash. So yes, be concerned.

Old 02-05-2007, 12:07 PM