F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Slip on - Power Commander - Filter question.

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2010, 07:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slip on - Power Commander - Filter question.

Can someone educate me or point me in the right direction of a good article to read up on all of these products.
I tried doing a search but I guess everything is quite vague.

I'm just trying to get an overview of the proper way to get these items on your bike and some basic tech. I've been riding for a few years but haven't really dove into the how to's yet.

What i'm asking is if you get an Air Filter and a Slip on exhaust - do you have to get the PC? and do you just get a pre-done map?

Is there anything wrong with just having a slip on and filter?

Thanks - sorry if these appear to be bad questions - just remember there are no dumb questions - just dumb people.

Old 06-08-2010, 09:16 AM

Slip-ons and Air Filters are possible the easiest mods you can do and aside from sprockets they are the only mods that will give you any increase in performance without significant engine work.

Installing a slip on is as easy as unbolting your current exhaust can and midpipe from the headers and replacing with the new one.

An Air filter is a little more involved but shouldn't take more than 20 minutes. The air filter is under the gas tank so you will have to remove the gas tank. You won't have to completely remove it but you'll want to pull it back to allow enough space to get at the Air box. You'll need an 8mm wrench for the front gas tank bolts and an Allen wrench for the rear bolts under the seat. After the tank is out of the way you'll have to open the air box with a philips head screw driver. Open the air box and there is your air filter.

Exhaust options are plentiful. Air filter options are pretty much K&N and BMC