F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Scratched Stator Cover, need to replace it, and I need a couple pointers please

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2006, 09:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scratched Stator Cover, need to replace it, and I need a couple pointers please

04 CBR 600 F4i

do i need to drain the oil before taking the cover off or can the oil stay as long as the bike hasnt been started in a while?
is there a place where i can get a cheap gasket?
will i need a sealer when putting in a new gasket?

i plan on buying a "cbr" engraved aluminum over...im starting to take apart the bike while its sitting in my garage for the winter and im trying to fix all the little stupid issues i have (like this scratched cover). im only asking these questions because im new to the bike game and i know there are paople on here with vast knowledge of bikes. thanks guys/girls.

Old 11-07-2006, 11:18 AM
Default RE: Scratched Stator Cover, need to replace it, and I need a couple pointers please

You don't have to drain the oil b4 changing the stator cover, but if you do drain the oil then have someone hold the bike tilting the stator cover up you should only have a little bit of oil run out (a couple teaspoons) when you remove the cover. You might need to use a screw driver or something to pry the cover off because of the powerful magnet inside, just be careful not to scratch anything. I don't know where you can get a cheap gasket. I was able to pick one up at a local bike shop which was about half of what two local Honda dealers wanted. I honestly don't remember if you need to use sealant or not. It's been a while since I changed mine. Hope this helps.

Old 11-07-2006, 01:14 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Scratched Stator Cover, need to replace it, and I need a couple pointers please

Yes, use a sealant. Yes, drain the oil.

Old 11-07-2006, 01:48 PM