CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   RPM's and Shifting gears? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/rpms-shifting-gears-135838/)

Bryantsito 03-22-2012 12:20 PM

RPM's and Shifting gears?

Hey All,

I Know this may sound like a dumb question, but I am new to my '01 CBR 600 F4i. Is it normal to be shifting at 4,000-5,000 Rpm's? I have no Idea if my bike was tuned or if anything was changed on it before I restored it from sitting for 6 years, I am guessing it is just stock. My speed in first gear is about 15-20 mph before I shift to second, and then 30-40 before I shift to third, if want to reach 50-60 mph i need to be in 4th gear. I am shifting at about 4,000-5,000 RPM's each gear. Does this sound normal? for stock settings?

thanks,

74demon 03-22-2012 12:32 PM

your dogging your motor. the power band is just starting to come around the 5,000rpm mark. rev it much higher when accelerating. when you get to cruising, and not accelerating, you can choose a gear to lower the rpm and save fuel, then kick it down when you need to punch it. you will also want to keep some good rpms during cornering to help it turn. throttle maintenance is huge when turning. that's a different lesson though.....

demon

Bryantsito 03-22-2012 12:45 PM

Originally Posted by 74demon (Post 1142959)
your dogging your motor. the power band is just starting to come around the 5,000rpm mark. rev it much higher when accelerating. when you get to cruising, and not accelerating, you can choose a gear to lower the rpm and save fuel, then kick it down when you need to punch it. you will also want to keep some good rpms during cornering to help it turn. throttle maintenance is huge when turning. that's a different lesson though.....

demon

So this is normal as far as my bike is good? what is "dogging" the motor?