F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Question about clutch / oil

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2006, 02:17 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Question about clutch / oil

Hi... I'm new here and I've been riding for six months now. Bought boots, pants, jacket, gloves, and of course helmet. Took the MSF course and am taking the advanced rider course this November. I have an '02 CBR 600F4i and I'm doing all the maintenance myself and while in the process of changing my oil I was told by a friend that my choice of motor oil (Valvoline 20W50 FullSyn) was not a wise one. He said that the full synthetic oil would cause a bike with a wet clutch to slip due to lack of friction. I checked out the Valvoline website and it says that it doesn't recomend using the full synthetic with a wet-clutch set up. Now here's where I'm a little confused (and embarrased)... Does the F4i use a wet-clutch set up? And if so, will the oil that I chose cause harm to the machine? Any tips for a newbie will help.

Old 10-23-2006, 02:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Question about clutch / oil

Use 4 stroke motorcycle oil 10-40w where do you live ? 20-50w is thicker not good for cooler states. Syn. is good for your bike ( shifts much better ) I use Mobile 1 for motorcycles Walmart has the best $ But what you put in wont hurt it.

Old 10-23-2006, 02:40 PM

Thanks! I live in the upper area of Florida. The tempature is awful in summer... Seeing 95 for a week is no biggie. oh... Is it important to use oil that's JASO approved?

Old 10-23-2006, 03:27 PM

IF YOU DON'T HAVE A OWNERS MANUEL DOWN LOAD ONE OR BUY ONE ITS A GOOD INVESTMENT IT TELLS YOU EVERYTHING. BE SAFE, RIDE SMART. V

Old 10-23-2006, 04:17 PM

f4i does have a wet clutch.
as long as the oil doesnt have and "friction modifiers" or "energy saving" additives youll be ok.