F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Question

  #1  
Old 08-04-2010, 05:01 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default Question

So I changed to a -1 front sprocket, Guy at local Motorcycle Shop said he wouldnt worry about changing chain. SO I didnt.

I put it all back together and was tightening up the chain and it went a 1/8 inch past replace chain spot. IS this OK?

2005 F4i
 
  #2  
Old 08-04-2010, 05:05 PM
Xander F4i's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: near Brookville, PA
Posts: 513
Default

i don't know for sure if it's ok...but you'll definitely run out of adjustment quicker
 
  #3  
Old 08-04-2010, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lancaster TX
Posts: 246
Default

what was it at before?
If it was good before then it is now you just have less adjustment to play with.
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:05 PM
July 2010 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,150
Default

lol
its fine, but you will run out of adjustment sooner, when u start changin stuff away from stock, all the stock indicators will no longer work-that means youll have to ignore them
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:56 PM
kilgoretrout's Avatar
Administrator - Retired
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 8,189
Default

lol
its fine, but you will run out of adjustment sooner, when u start changin stuff away from stock, all the stock indicators will no longer work-that means youll have to ignore them
Yep.
Since you went -1 up front, you made the sprocket smaller. When you do this, you need less chain to cover it. Since the front sprocket is fixed, the rear has to move back to take up the slack of the excess chain you've created.
If you went the other way, (like +1 on the front)... you would have to move the rear wheel forward and your chain would be shagged without ever getting to the "replace" mark.
Those marks are pretty much worthless, imo, and should never be used to judge your chain. If you put on a brand new chain tomorrow that was 2 links too big, it wouldn't mean that it needed replaced.

As a rule of thumb.....if you suspect your chain may be done, grab it at the very back of the rear sprocket (far right) and pull on it. If the chain comes up off the sprocket enough to show light through the "U" of the teeth, it should be replaced.
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:30 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, one more thing. I took it for a ride out my road and back. It did fine other than a noise coming from the front sprocket area, like a chain rubbing or something.

I took it back to the house and took it apart again and nothing was rubbing. So I pushed the bike forward and it made a unusual noise when the chain first started to grab the sprocket, but after that it didnt make it anymore if I kept pushing it.
 
  #7  
Old 08-04-2010, 10:22 PM
July 2010 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,150
Default

then its prolly your mind. lol jk but just make sure you put it on right and tightend the nut down, itll be fine, its a new sproket on a used chain, itll make a little noise bc the teeth arent matched to the links of the chain
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
odano1988
CBR 600F4
8
09-15-2015 07:26 AM
bammerman
600 Modifications
15
06-12-2010 12:32 PM
600f4iHUNTERDON-NJ
Stunters Corner
2
10-08-2009 10:30 AM
sempul
CBR 900RR
11
09-11-2009 09:38 PM
viva_brasil
CBR 600F3
3
06-09-2008 04:38 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Question


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.