F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Problems with brand new RK Chain?? WITH PICTURES

  #1  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:11 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default Problems with brand new RK Chain?? WITH PICTURES

so i bought a chain kit from sprocket center about 3 weeks ago and 300 miles later the links have cracks. the sprockets are oem size and the chain is a RK 520 XSO Gray X'ring. what can possibly cause such a thing? i had the chain put on by a local shop by the name of HFD1 Motorsports here in GA.

info about the kit i bought

520 Conversion Kit - Superlite Steel Sprocket Set w/ RK Brand 520 X'ring Chain - HONDA CBR 600 F4i '01-06
-Rear Sprocket Size: 46 - Stock
-Front Sprocket Size: 16 - Stock
-Select Chain: RK 520 XSO Gray X'ring

Name:  815fbc8a.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  304.2 KB
Name:  c6d25534.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  301.2 KB
Name:  18e6b36b.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  228.8 KB
Name:  2cf9bc7d.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  331.3 KB
Name:  c2268583.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  289.9 KB
Name:  34694962.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  284.0 KB
Name:  9fb17bf5.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  244.5 KB
 

Last edited by jr f4i; 04-10-2012 at 08:57 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:21 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,943
Default

Is that a 520 sprocket? I thought that the oem sprocket was a 530. That wont work with a 520 chain.....
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:24 PM
gotcbr's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,494
Default

Improper installation perhaps. Maybe its the pic but the pins on the master-link do not look like they are staked/flared to spec, which is 5.55-5.85mm (0.219-0.230in) for RK. Also, the chain looks tight...is it?

In all the years of chaining chains, I've never seen this if a chain is installed properly.
 
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:26 PM
gotcbr's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,494
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
Is that a 520 sprocket? I thought that the oem sprocket was a 530. That wont work with a 520 chain.....
Oem sprocket is 525.

However, 74demon is correct in that sprocket size must match chain size.
 
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:35 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,943
Default

My mistake...525. Thanks for the correction. Its spreading out the links and cracking them.
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 430
Default

That chain looks too tight, spec is what 1-1 3/8 inches of slack. I used a 525 RK kit on my bike and have no issues. Since you got the kit I'll assume the sprockets are matched to the 520 chain, contact the shop as well as sprocket center and see what they have to say. Any pics from the back of the bike looking at how the chain mates w/ the sprocket and a pic of the whole chain might help to get an idea of slack?
 
  #7  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:43 PM
gotama's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Washington state not DC
Posts: 134
Default

holy crap on a cracker
 
  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:54 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default

im uploading more pics and my friend who also has an f4i looked at the chain and said that it had to much slack. not only that but that shop i took it to told me to bring the bike within 1000 miles so they can adjust the chain slack . but from what ive read today your suppose to adjusted within 50 mile and then recheck at 200 miles right?
 
  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:22 PM
gotcbr's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6,494
Default

Just to state the obvious: Do NOT ride your bike again until you get a new chain.
 
  #10  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:25 PM
Sprock's Avatar
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Republic of Boon Island
Posts: 11,005
Default

wearing on the outer upper link plates with scoring

chain is way too loose and is riding up on the front sprocket somehow and against the
engine casing or sprocket cover - is my best guess or something similar like that

show me pics of the front sprocket cover and how the front sprocket was installed !
could be the front sprocket bolt is off too !

Yeah it def looks like it's grinding itself against the sprocket cover man just look
at the scores on those link plates

who did the install ? and the front sprocket will tell all here imo , wonder if the new
front was even installed at all !
 

Last edited by Sprock; 04-10-2012 at 09:33 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Problems with brand new RK Chain?? WITH PICTURES


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.