Go Back  CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners > Past CBR Models > CBR 600 F4i > F4i - Main Forum
Reload this Page >

Problem installing my new HID kit from DDM on a '06 F4I, Help Please!

F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Problem installing my new HID kit from DDM on a '06 F4I, Help Please!

  #1  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:48 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Default Problem installing my new HID kit from DDM on a '06 F4I, Help Please!

I recently installed the 35W 6000K HID kit on my 2006 CBR F4I and everything went great except for one thing. The actual bulb that goes into the headlight housing seems to be shorter on the back side where the wires come out. When I put it in the housing, it seats in nice and firm, however, when I screw down that little metal "wire/clamp" looking piece that holds the bulb into the housing there's a little bit of space so the bulb isn't held firmly in place. It is close enough that it keeps the bulb from falling out of the housing, however, it's not firmly in place like the stock bulbs were. So, I proceeded to go ahead and put the big rubber boot on the back of the headlight housing hoping that may be enough to keep the bulb from rattling around. So far, I think it holds the bulb well enough that it will work, but I feel like the bulb rattles in the housing when I hit little bumps in the road because I can see the light flicker in the reflection in signs and windows. Has anyone else had this problem when installing DDM Tuning HID kits on their F4I's? If so, any help or advice is appreciated... Thanks! -Robbie
 

Last edited by rodonne1; 06-16-2011 at 06:16 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 901
Default

Sounds like the stock bulb housing needs to be trimmed some more, if you havent already. It definitely fits nice and snug once enough plastic has been removed.

 
  #3  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 126
Default

I dotn remember if I had to trim my hid bulbs or not. Just compare the bulb to your stock one and see if the tabs look the same.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:13 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by Sick97SS View Post
Sounds like the stock bulb housing needs to be trimmed some more, if you havent already. It definitely fits nice and snug once enough plastic has been removed.





Sick97ss,

I actually followed your step by step post on how to install them and trimmed the plastic the exact same way that you did, however, the problem lies in how far the buld goes into the housing. It goes in and feels like it seats into the housing nicely except for when I put that little wire clamp thing on to the back of the bulb, it's as if it needs to be able to tighten down a little more but I have the screw screwed all the way in as far it goes. the bulb itself has a little wire/tube thing that runs down the length of the glass, that part is facing down towards the ground is that the same way that your bulbs sit in the headlight housing?
 

Last edited by rodonne1; 06-16-2011 at 07:11 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 126
Default

I thought the metal clamp was held in place with the screw and you actually un hook it instead of taking the screw off. Its hard to explain but I dont remember taking that screw out last year when I installed hids on my bike.
 
  #6  
Old 06-16-2011, 06:37 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Pictures will help solve this in no time!!
 
  #7  
Old 06-16-2011, 07:42 PM
nickp123's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Default

i just ordered my kit a few days ago so hopefully it should be here this weekend. Mines not from ddm though. You had to trim the bulb housing that came with your kit?
 
  #8  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:37 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Default

Well, just found my problem after 3 hours of working on the bike, it's extremely hot and humid in Savannah! When I trimmed the edges of the bulb like sick97ss shows, I trimmed about 1mm too much. That 1mm is just enough gap between the clamp that holds the bulb in place and the bulb to leave wiggle room and I did it on both headlights. I'm sooo mad at myself for doing this because I either have to live with it and let it bother me everytime I see my lights woble when I hit bumbs or spend another $54 to order another kit from DDM. Let my mistake be your lesson learned, hopefully for those of you who are about to order kits, you won't make this stupid mistake that I have made. Good Luck!
 
  #9  
Old 06-16-2011, 08:39 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 8
Default

Here's sick97ss's step by step intall instructions that I used, just remember, when he says "slightly trim the squared edges" he means it. Good Luck!

https://home.comcast.net/~nstama/hidinstall.html
 
  #10  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:19 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Yes, I followed sick97ss's step by step along with How To: Install HID headlights (F4i) - Band Of Riders <- that DIY and it worked fine for me.

Not flickering, rattling and anything of the short.

I have the 35w DDM kit, btw
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Problem installing my new HID kit from DDM on a '06 F4I, Help Please!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.