F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

PLEASE HELP - 01 F4i runs ruch, stalls

  #1  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:13 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default PLEASE HELP - 01 F4i runs ruch, stalls

Hey all - looking for some magical mister wizard type advice to make everything ok. I NEED to ride this machine before the end of the season.

Got an 01 F4i. Old engine was toast so i got a repl. Wouldn't run, so I narrowed it down to the FPR. Changed that. Plugs. Got it all back together. Wouldn't run. Opened up the airbox because I thought the air filter might be the problem. (Pretty dark, maybe lots of oil from the old engine?) Now it starts, needs throttle to run at first (maybe adjust idle ****) and will idle for a few minutes - but when it warms up it starts blowing mixture smoke and then it stalls. Hard restart, feels like TPS. Makes no sense that the TPS would richen the mixture though. It has a power commander 2. I zeroed it out with the three button trick. Should be at stock baseline, though it has a shorty micron pipe on it and the K&N filter. I'm frustrated.
I get no lights when it's running. I'll re-check the codes tonight.

Any ideas? I thought of gummed up injectors. Used a bit of injector cleaner. Maybe that will help but the way it goes... I doubt it. What are the chances that the new FPR is bad as well? It acts like lots of fuel is being dumped into it. Can the MAP sensor do this?
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-2011, 06:14 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Another strange thing... the temp reading on the gauge cluster reads 168 when cold?
I have the 9 light trouble code so I supposed I'll have to track the wires back. MULTIMETER TIME.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-2011, 10:18 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Nobody? Adjusted the power commander back to lean and it still runs rich. Very rich. Today I blew air through the vacuum lines going to the FPR. They seem to be open. It ran (idled) quite well and actually started easily. IT exibited the same problem though - after a few minutes it idled down and stalled. Fan is not kicking on so I'm pretty sure the 250 degree reading on the gauge is wrong. Does teh computer read the gauge?
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-2011, 07:36 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Default Nobody?

Nothing? THis can't be a new problem...
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
BRNFNY
General Tech
6
04-04-2014 05:45 PM
fheris
F2 Tech
7
01-04-2013 06:00 PM
DesertCBR
CBR 600F3
12
04-23-2012 07:19 PM
BladeRunner1956
General Tech
5
10-25-2009 11:08 AM
SloNotch
CBR 600F4
10
07-27-2009 08:59 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: PLEASE HELP - 01 F4i runs ruch, stalls


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.