CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   On/Off throttle jerk? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/off-throttle-jerk-117459/)

Lando 10-09-2010 05:47 PM

On/Off throttle jerk?

Hi, first post here on the CBR forum, I just recently picked up a 06 F4i with around 9k miles. I just put new tires on the bike and changed the oil and filter. While riding I am experiencing a jerk/thunk feeling when getting on and off the throttle, and then it immediately smooths out? Is this normal for the sportbike in general. It feels like a drivetrain delay of some sorts.

When reinstalling the rear wheel after the new tires I followed the factory chain slack amount listed in the manual, so I don't think it's the chain, but I am new at bikes so it could be related. Any help is appreciated.

yellowcbr 10-09-2010 06:09 PM

i have my chain tightened to about 1/2 inch flex and it has smoothed that out alot

PlayfulGod 10-09-2010 06:16 PM

yea check your chain tension ;)

MitchA 10-09-2010 07:55 PM

I may be off in this diagnosis but when I got my F4i throttle smoothness was pretty difficult to find. Over time and with one of those clip on throttle clips and Im much smoother with the throttle and I rarely get the clunks.

ian7321 10-09-2010 08:13 PM

If your chain is good then check the throttle cable itself. It may just need to be tightened up a lil bit.

Lando 10-09-2010 08:38 PM

Originally Posted by PlayfulGod (Post 975421)
yea check your chain tension ;)

I snugged up the chain a little, I will report back.

woot 10-10-2010 05:26 AM