CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   New GooF4i Owner (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/new-goof4i-owner-100779/)

mikeswe 09-13-2009 12:45 PM

New GooF4i Owner

3 Attachment(s)
Hello from Sweden. Be nice to me, I'm a newbie ;) . No I'm not, I got my first bike back in -78 and I have owned many bikes since then, among them proper sportbikes like GSXR600, ZX6R and 748R. I've always liked the latest F Sport looks, more so than the later RR, although the RR is probably a better bike. I like to get older bikes and modify them to perform better on the track. This bike is going to be used for track riding next season. Most mods will be to improve handling/performance.

Pretty much stock 2002 bike with 16000kms on the clock. Only mod (at least that I know of) is an undertail. So far the only thing I have done is to put new indicators on, LED internal in the rear/brake, lic plate holder and taken all fairings off and fixed all missing and wrong type fasteners. The lugs on the headlight housing sticking into the fairing stay where both broken off. It was easily fixed by drilling holes in the lugs and putting M4 screws through it. The side stand is bent so the bike leans very much to the left.

The bike has many previous owners. It has been down on the right side at some time in the past. But it runs fine, it has been serviced, the chain/sprockets are almost new, I think the bike is OK.

I just set all suspension to standard first, and then increased preload both front and rear (3 lines front, pos 6 rear). It pretty much feels very good. The tires are worn flat, Michelin PR2, they will be changed. Next, I will bleed the brakes and change pads in the front.