CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   My bike is not starting, just cranks (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/my-bike-not-starting-just-cranks-130030/)

twinturboaddict 08-23-2011 09:25 PM

My bike is not starting, just cranks

My "new" bike was just delivered to me, it is a 2002 CBR600F4i that was crashed and has bent forks but otherwise in great condition. When I went to look at the bike before I bought it from the dealership it was starting right up, with a second backup battery since the one in the bike was dead. Today when it was delivered I installed a brand new battery in it and it cranks like it should but it just doesn't start. What could the cause be and what can I check? It is full of gas so no it's not empty. I am new to bikes but can take a car apart and put it back together in my sleep.

AF4iK 08-23-2011 10:40 PM

I do my own car work too and figure the same basic checks would apply to troubleshooting bikes. Can you hear the fuel pump turn on when you turn the key?

twinturboaddict 08-23-2011 11:45 PM

The starting issue is fixed. I had removed the entire headlight assembly and it seems like there is a module on there that's related to the ignition. Another clear indication that I need to get a nice big manual for the bike and become familiar with the components.

So, the bike started and sounds as nice as I remember it. Here is another problems I discovered though.