F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

looking at purchasing a F4i a few questions?

Old 04-02-2009, 01:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking at purchasing a F4i a few questions?

I am new to the bike world. looking at buying one went and looked at a local used bike dealer and they had over 80 bikes. sat on a few and like the way the f4i feels i am just curious what to look for when buying a used bike? alot have been beaten on and i understand they are suppose to be driven but i just dont want to get screwed. i looked at the split seat ones as well as the newer 'banana' seat ones and i am curious what one is more comfortable for the gf riding along maybe a girl could chip in? i LOVE the way the exhaust comes under the seat on some bikes i am curious if anyone did a custom install like that on a f4i? i know this is alot of questions but thank you for your help!
look forward to owning one!
Thanks
Bee

Old 04-02-2009, 05:45 AM
July 2008 ROTM

No under seat exhaust on the F4i without extensive modifications.

Things to look for are generic for any bike. Look to see how clean the crack and crevices are. Look around for cracks in plastics, stripped bolts, hack wiring jobs, etc. Ask to hear the bike started up cold, take it for a test drive.

Old 04-02-2009, 06:47 AM

look at brake pads, dark brake fluid says it needs changed. look at the color of the oil. look at the radiator to make sure it isnt smashed bad. look at the tires and chain. look for a tool kit. theres plenty more but im off to work...

Old 04-02-2009, 10:02 AM