CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   Keep or sell? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/keep-sell-154332/)

Fabio Arciniegas 04-08-2016 08:52 PM

Keep or sell?

3 Attachment(s)
hey guys about a year ago I bough an 05 F4i as my first bike and she looked rough but rode well. I didn't think much of her cosmetic damage since its my first bike and I was sure I would crash(haven't yet) and I was doing my buddy a favor by buying it off him. My dilemma now is should sell her and buy something that doesn't have as many problem because I have little to no mechanical knowledge about bikes. keeping it and fixing her would be a big project with someone with my skill or lack there of. Need some opinions/advice!

So far this is what is wrong with her:

- Runs hot (230-5°F) when stopped in traffic or riding slow
- Recently starting to struggle to turn on, battery has been replaced and nothing.
- Fork seals need to be changed and there is a slight bend on the frame (according to the mechanic) Don't really trust their opinion.
-Needs new fairings and exhaust due to multiple crashes (previous owner)
-Might have other things wrong but I couldn't tell you because I don't know bikes.

dirtyhands 04-09-2016 02:23 PM

Thoughts on your questions:
That's not that hot for a CBR F4i, only worry about it if you are not hearing the fan come on and you start to boil over. Add some Redline water wetter to distilled water and buy a new rad cap (generic 16lbs Honda works fine).

To check if your frame is bent, get a long straightedge and sight down the rear wheel (once you know the wheel is aligned in the swing arm). Also, push the bike straight through a puddle and see if you get 1 or two tracks. Obviously two tracks is bad.