CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   Help With Gas Tank... (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/help-gas-tank-104640/)

Valeroso 01-07-2010 09:12 PM

Help With Gas Tank...

Hey Everyone...

I am a newbie to this forum as well as a rider. Just got my license this past Halloween and got my Bike recently.

I got a good deal from the dealer and it fit my budget more importantly. Only flaw I can think of is on the left side of the gas tank. I was wondering if I can get rid of this but I was told by a friend that it wasn't possible since its the gas tank. Is this true??

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

ID_CBRRider 01-07-2010 10:54 PM

Pics??? That would be helpful. I'm guessing your dealing with a dent of some kind. Those can be repaired, with a miriad of possible ways. If it's only a small, minor, dent you can remove your tank and seal up all the holes. Then use an air compressor to blow air into the tank and pop the dent out. if it's worse than that then you'll have to have the dent cut out and new metal replaced in.

If you need someone to do the cutting and repairing, PM me. I know a guy who does that and I can give you his E-mail and website.

Zero1080 01-08-2010 01:05 AM

Originally Posted by ID_CBRRider (Post 871844)
Then use an air compressor to blow air into the tank and pop the dent out.

That, however awesome it would be to see, and functional, seems HIGHLY dangerous.

asill 01-08-2010 09:15 AM