F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Gear shifter cluster, how to remove??

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 09:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gear shifter cluster, how to remove??

well i got a chrome gear shifter cluster for my 02 f4i un-bolted it from the frame but got stuck when it came down to takeing the acual shifting rod out of its housing, it looked to be in a joint/ball pivot houseing that looke impossible to get it. Im new to f4i's so flame all you want. What can i do to remove it so i can put my shiney new chrome cluster on?

Old 11-18-2007, 11:46 AM
Default RE: Gear shifter cluster, how to remove??

the shift rod just spins off. behind the rearset where the shifter actually connects to is a metal ring. i just used a pair of needle nose pilers and stuck its inbetween the opening and spread it off.

Old 11-19-2007, 12:15 AM

i sorta know what your talking about, but i spun it like a ball bearing, all around and in every direction. What do you mean by spread? You spread the metal, how in the hell?? pics would be nice im guessing if i can get some or someone else could

Old 11-19-2007, 01:41 AM

its a ring thats shaped like a C you stick it inbetween like C< then open the pliers so the ring opens

Old 11-19-2007, 09:41 AM

Hey guy, Take a look at this picture! I just had to replace my pedal because I dropped the bike and it broke off. Anyhow do it in these steps, hope it makes sense.

1. Once you have the rearset removed from the bike; loosen the bolt in the picture. But only loosen it don't take it all the way off because you will need it to stop in the same spot when you re attach new footpedal.
2. Un-screw the rear set from the shift rod. Note: Remove the heal shield because it gets in the way.