F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Gauge cluster only works with brakes on???

  #1  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:11 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Gauge cluster only works with brakes on???

Just picked up an 01 F4i. Bike was working great up untill the gauge cluster just stopped out of nowhere. Thought maybe loose connector. Not it. While checking things, I noticed that the cluster comes back on when either brake is activated. Wierd! Anyone have any ideas on this. Short of it being wire issues somewhere under the plastics I'm not sure where to start. Any help would be great.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:59 AM
woot's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 1,127
Default

I think you've got a damaged ground. You might need to take the plastics off to get a good look at the wiring around the headlight, then follow them along down the frame. This is going to be trail and error, but that's all I can suggest.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
deputydelicious
F4i - Main Forum
1
06-15-2013 07:09 AM
Bskinn77
F4i - Main Forum
8
01-06-2013 05:10 PM
oldschoolCBR
CBR 600F
0
03-08-2007 05:50 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Gauge cluster only works with brakes on???


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.